The Heart Speaks

The thoughts of the heart are not always expressed in words. People veil what they are thinking. The tongue, essential for speech, expresses silently the intent of the mind.

Universally, the tongue reveals one’s attitude toward others by posing, attacking, protesting, insulting, and all without a sound. So…

There is the tongue bite, teeth exposed, tip protruding, flattened and turning downward, and eyebrows raised, meaning, “I know I misbehaved in your face, but I get away with it by being daring and cute.”

Another is sticking out one’s tongue, pointed, chin jutting forward, eyebrows furrowed, meaning, “I hate you; If my tongue were a knife, I’d stab you.”

Then there’s the sneering tongue, lips curled up in distaste, the tip slightly protruding and flaccid, ready to vomit, meaning, “You disgust me.”

Finally, one more among many is the wandering tongue, worming in, out, and around behind the lips and cheeks, accompanied by roving eyes, focusing no where, meaning, “Blah. You bore me. Go away.”

Children do tongue displays openly; adults learn to be subtle to get away with it.

Regardless, if your child is displaying the tongue, he’s insecure, and ‘Johnny’ is begging you to step up to your responsibility.

Assignment #1: Watch your child’s tongue for displays, and assess.

About Stephen

I love diversity, and the opportunity to learn from everyone everywhere. My life has been one long adventure, from the jungle of Indonesia to the Amazon, and a few places in between. Multilingual and cultural, I adapt and find comfort in even the roughest spots, meeting challenges with relish.
This entry was posted in Choice, Definitions, Parenting, Reaction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

